Best Medical Weight Loss Programs for Midlife Adults (2026)
ACT 2 Health publishes this guide and ranks itself first. The criteria we used are below, and every other entry links to that provider's own site so you can check the details yourself.
Six clinician-run weight loss programs for adults over 45, compared on live visits, labs, prices, and whether the GLP-1s are branded or compounded.
ACT 2 Health Clinical Team ยท Updated September 24, 2026
Medically reviewed by Benjamin H. Krasne, M.D.
Weight tends to behave differently after 45. Muscle is harder to keep, hormones shift, and a routine that worked at 35 can stop working without any change in effort. Medical weight loss programs promise a clinical answer, and GLP-1 medications have made them far more popular. They are not all built the same way, though. Some start with blood work and a live visit, some start with a questionnaire, and some prescribe compounded versions of GLP-1 drugs while others prescribe only FDA-approved brands. This guide compares six programs on the things you can check yourself before you sign up.
How we chose
We looked only at programs that were operating and enrolling patients in September 2026, and we checked every fact below on each provider's own website. We scored them on six criteria you can verify:
- A live clinician visit before a prescription. A video, phone or in-person conversation, not only a form.
- Labs or medical records reviewed at the start. Blood work, recent records, or both, before or at the first prescribing decision.
- Published pricing. A program fee you can see before you enroll, and clarity about what is extra.
- Clarity about branded versus compounded medication. Whether the program says plainly which kind it prescribes.
- Named, checkable clinician credentials. Physicians you can look up, or a stated board certification such as the American Board of Obesity Medicine (ABOM).
- Follow-up built in. Scheduled check-ins and a way to adjust the plan over time.
No program is best for everyone. Several below take insurance and ACT 2 does not, which matters a great deal if your plan covers a branded GLP-1.
A quick word on GLP-1 medications
The FDA has approved branded GLP-1 medications for chronic weight management, including Zepbound (tirzepatide) and Wegovy (semaglutide). Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide are different products. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness, and the FDA says compounded drugs should only be used when a patient's medical needs cannot be met by an FDA-approved drug. Clinical trial results for the branded medications do not apply to compounded versions. We note below which programs prescribe which. If you want to understand the term itself, ACT 2's page on what "compounded" means explains it.
The list
1. ACT 2 Health
Best for: Adults over 45 who want labs and a live clinician visit before any prescription, and who want every price published in advance.
ACT 2 Health is a 100% online, telemedicine-only platform. Its weight loss program follows the same path as the rest of its care: an online assessment, clinician review with baseline labs where appropriate, a personalized plan, medication shipped from licensed pharmacies, then follow-ups and repeat labs with the plan adjusted over time. A live phone or video visit with a clinician is required before anything is prescribed, and there is no add-to-cart route. Labs are drawn at a local patient service center, with results usually back within days.
Prices are published in full on its pricing page, with no membership fee and the same price in every state. Compounded semaglutide injection is listed from $299 a month and compounded tirzepatide injection from $399 a month, with oral capsule versions of each also listed. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved, are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness, and are not equivalent to or interchangeable with any branded product. For people whose insurance already covers a branded GLP-1, ACT 2 lists a Weight Loss Program Membership at $75 a month. The Comprehensive Lab Panel is $199, one time.
Worth knowing: ACT 2 does not bill insurance, and insurance generally does not cover compounded medications or proactive lab panels. Its care is delivered by licensed clinicians; the site names three physicians, and metabolic and weight care is the stated focus of Benjamin H. Krasne, M.D., who is board-certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology. Individual results vary, and eligibility is determined by a licensed provider.
Not the right fit if: you want in-person visits or a physical exam, you need body scans or imaging such as DEXA, you want your insurance billed for the visits, or you live in New York, New Jersey or Rhode Island and need ACT 2 to order your labs (it can still see you there, but lab ordering is not available). Its weight loss FAQ covers the basics.
2. Form Health
Best for: People with insurance, including Medicare, who want a physician-led obesity medicine team and FDA-approved medication only.
Form Health says its care team is led by an ABOM-certified physician or endocrinologist, working with advanced practice providers and registered dietitians. Care runs through monthly video visits with a clinician and a dietitian, plus messaging in its app. The plan covers nutrition, physical activity and behavioral health, and Form says it prescribes only FDA-approved medications, when appropriate. It lists Zepbound, Wegovy, Saxenda and Contrave among them.
Worth knowing: Form Health says it is in-network with most major private insurers and Medicare, with visits, labs and medications billed through insurance. Its self-pay plan is listed at $299 a month on its site as of September 2026, and that fee does not include labs or medication. Eligibility is based on BMI, and you must have seen a primary care physician in the last 12 months, because Form requests your records to make up for not doing a physical exam.
Not the right fit if: you do not have a regular primary care physician, you fall outside its BMI criteria, or you want in-person visits.
3. knownwell
Best for: People who want the option of in-person visits with an obesity medicine team, billed through insurance.
knownwell describes itself as weight-inclusive care with GLP-1 support. It says its clinicians are board-certified in obesity medicine, that you see the same clinician across visits, and that care includes nutrition counseling with dietitians. It offers virtual weight management in all 50 states and in-person visits in Georgia, Massachusetts, Illinois, Texas and New York City. Its FAQ says every visit is live, either by video or in person, and that labs are sometimes required depending on the medication and your health history. Its care page lists menopause and perimenopause among the conditions it sees.
Worth knowing: knownwell says it accepts most major commercial insurance plans and charges no membership fee, with self-pay options. It does not publish a self-pay visit price on the pages we checked. Its clinical team includes nurse practitioners and physician assistants alongside physicians.
Not the right fit if: you want a flat monthly price you can see before enrolling, or you would rather not use insurance at all (knownwell says it prefers to bill insurance and does not discount self-pay visits).
4. Calibrate
Best for: People with commercial or employer insurance who want labs first and a structured year of coaching.
Calibrate's program asks members to complete blood work at a lab before the first clinician video visit, where the clinician reviews the results and health history. Its clinicians prescribe branded GLP-1s such as Wegovy, Zepbound and Mounjaro when appropriate, and members work through a curriculum with regular one-to-one video coaching. It says it is available in all 50 states and D.C.
Worth knowing: The program is listed at $199 a month on its site as of September 2026. Labs and medication are not included, and Calibrate says the program fee itself is not covered by insurance, though its team works with insurers on medication and lab coverage. Its FAQ says its clinicians are US-licensed, board-certified nurse practitioners, so this is not a physician-delivered program.
Not the right fit if: you want to be seen by a physician, or you have no insurance coverage for GLP-1s and do not want to pay the full cash price for branded medication.
5. WeightWatchers Clinic (Med+)
Best for: People who want a well-known behavior program, FDA-approved medication, and a menopause track.
WeightWatchers' Med+ membership pairs a telehealth consultation with a board-certified clinician with its nutrition and behavior program. It says it prescribes only FDA-approved medications, including Wegovy, Zepbound and Saxenda, and that its care team handles insurance calls and prior authorizations. A separate menopause program adds menopause-trained coaching, and its clinicians can prescribe FDA-approved menopause hormone therapy with a separate Med+ Menopause membership.
Worth knowing: Med+ is listed at $25 for the first month, then $74 a month on a 12-month plan or $84 a month on a 6-month plan, on its site as of September 2026. Medication is not included, and plans auto-renew. We did not find a statement about baseline labs before prescribing.
Not the right fit if: you want a lab-led assessment, a physician rather than a clinician of unstated type, or a month-to-month commitment.
6. Found
Best for: People who want the widest menu of medication options, including insurance-covered visits.
Found says its clinicians are board-certified and trained in metabolic medicine, and that they can choose from more than 10 medications, including branded GLP-1s such as Wegovy and Zepbound and compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness. Found also says some of the medications it uses are FDA-approved for other conditions and prescribed off-label for weight.
Worth knowing: Found lists plans from $99 a month with insurance or $169 a month cash on its site as of September 2026, with medication included on compounded plans. It says prescriptions are at the provider's discretion and not available in all states. We did not find a clear statement about labs before prescribing or about live visits before the first prescription.
Not the right fit if: you want FDA-approved medication only, or you want a program that starts with blood work.
Comparison table
| Provider | Format | Physician-led? | Labs before prescribing? | Published pricing? | Where available |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACT 2 Health | Online (labs at a local service center) | Licensed clinicians; three named physicians with license and NPI numbers listed | Baseline labs where appropriate; live visit required | Yes, full price list | All 50 states for care; no lab ordering in NY, NJ, RI |
| Form Health | Online (video) | Yes, per its site: led by an ABOM-certified physician or endocrinologist | Recent PCP visit and records required; lab timing not stated | Self-pay $299/mo; labs and meds extra | Not stated |
| knownwell | Hybrid (virtual plus clinics in GA, MA, IL, TX, NYC) | ABOM board-certified clinicians; team includes NPs and PAs | Sometimes, depending on medication | Insurance-based; self-pay price not stated | Virtual care in all 50 states |
| Calibrate | Online (video) | No; board-certified nurse practitioners | Yes, before first visit | $199/mo; labs and meds extra | All 50 states and D.C. |
| WeightWatchers Clinic (Med+) | Online (telehealth) | Board-certified clinician; physician role not stated | Not stated | $25 first month, then $74 or $84/mo; meds extra | Not stated |
| Found | Online | Board-certified clinicians; physician role not stated | Not stated | From $99/mo with insurance or $169/mo cash | Not all states for prescriptions |
How to choose
Start with insurance. If your plan covers a branded GLP-1, programs that bill insurance (Form Health, knownwell) or help with prior authorizations (Calibrate, WeightWatchers) may cost you far less overall, and ACT 2's $75 membership is built for that case too. If your plan does not cover one, compare the full monthly cost, including medication and labs, not just the program fee.
Then look at how the first prescribing decision is made. Programs that review labs and hold a live visit first give the clinician more to go on, and they are more likely to catch a reason a medication is wrong for you. The FDA lists "does not require a screening and prescription by a licensed doctor" as a warning sign when buying GLP-1s online.
Finally, think about the midlife picture. Weight change after 45 often overlaps with perimenopause, menopause or falling testosterone. ACT 2's article on menopause and weight change walks through why. A program that can look at hormones and metabolism together may suit you better than one that treats weight alone, and a program that takes insurance may suit you better than either. The right answer depends on your history, your labs and your coverage.
Sources
- https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-new-medication-chronic-weight-management
- https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-approves-first-treatment-reduce-risk-serious-heart-problems-specifically-adults-obesity-or
- https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-alerts-and-statements/fdas-concerns-unapproved-glp-1-drugs-used-weight-loss
- https://www.formhealth.co/how-it-works
- https://www.formhealth.co/faqs
- https://www.knownwell.co/
- https://www.knownwell.co/virtual-care
- https://www.knownwell.co/faqs
- https://www.joincalibrate.com/pricing
- https://www.joincalibrate.com/how-it-works
- https://www.joincalibrate.com/faqs
- https://www.weightwatchers.com/us/weight-loss-medication
- https://www.weightwatchers.com/us/menopause
- https://joinfound.com/
Frequently asked questions
Branded products such as Wegovy (semaglutide) and Zepbound (tirzepatide) are FDA-approved for chronic weight management. Compounded versions are prepared by a pharmacy for an individual prescription. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness, and trial results for the branded drugs do not apply to them. Ask any program which kind it prescribes.
Programs differ. Calibrate asks members to complete blood work before the first clinician visit, knownwell says labs are sometimes needed depending on the medication and your history, and ACT 2 orders baseline labs where appropriate. If a program never asks about labs or your medical records, ask why before you start.
Sometimes. Form Health and knownwell say they bill most major insurance plans, and Form Health lists Medicare. Calibrate says its program fee is not covered by insurance. ACT 2 does not bill insurance, but its Weight Loss Program Membership is designed for people whose insurance already covers a branded GLP-1. Check your own plan's coverage before you enroll.
There is rarely one cause. Hormonal change around perimenopause and menopause, changes in muscle, sleep and activity, and some medications can all play a part, and they often overlap. None of that means medication is the answer for everyone. A clinician can review your history and labs and help you decide whether medication, a nutrition and strength plan, or both make sense.
It is not required everywhere, but it gives the clinician more to work with. A live conversation lets a clinician ask follow-up questions about your history, current medications and side effects. knownwell says all its visits are live, by video or in person, and ACT 2 requires a live phone or video visit before anything is prescribed. Some programs rely more on questionnaires, so ask how the first prescribing decision is made.
This page is educational and is not medical advice. Treatments are available only to eligible patients following clinical evaluation. How we write and review our content.