Best Hormone Optimization Clinics for Adults Over 45 (2026)
ACT 2 Health publishes this guide and ranks itself first. The criteria we used are below, and every other entry links to that provider's own site so you can check the details yourself.
Six US hormone clinics for men and women over 45, compared on labs, who treats you, published prices, insurance and Medicare, and age limits.
ACT 2 Health Clinical Team ยท Updated September 24, 2026
Medically reviewed by Benjamin H. Krasne, M.D. and Vanessa Niles, R.N., M.D., F.A.C.O.G.
Hormone care after 45 is not one question. For women it is usually perimenopause and menopause; for men it is often whether testosterone has actually fallen and whether treating it makes sense. In both cases the useful starting point is the same: measure first, then decide. This guide compares six US providers that treat adults in midlife, on how they measure, who treats you, what they publish about price, and who they are not built for.
How we chose
Every provider below was operating and offering hormone care in September 2026, and each fact about it comes from its own website, linked in the entry. We compared them on six criteria:
- Measurement before treatment. Does the provider require or describe bloodwork before prescribing hormones?
- Who treats you. Are prescribers physicians, nurse practitioners or both, and are they named?
- Live clinician contact. Is there a video, phone or in-person visit before a prescription?
- Published pricing. Can you see the price, and what it includes, before you sign up?
- Coverage and payment. Where is the service available, and does it take insurance or Medicare?
- Eligibility limits. Does the provider publish age limits or other restrictions that matter after 45?
We did not use reviews, testimonials or any provider's outcome figures.
The list
1. ACT 2 Health
Best for: men and women over 45 who want labs, a live clinician visit and published prices, all online.
ACT 2 Health is a 100% online telemedicine platform, available for clinical care in all 50 states. A live phone or video visit with a clinician is required before anything is prescribed, and for testosterone both bloodwork and a live visit are required first. The care model runs from an online assessment to clinician review with baseline labs where appropriate, a personalized plan, and follow-ups and repeat labs as the plan is adjusted over time (hormone optimization).
Its women's health physician is Vanessa Niles, R.N., M.D., F.A.C.O.G., a board-certified OB-GYN with more than 40 years in the field whose focus is menopause, perimenopause and hormone therapy; see for women and the menopause and HRT guide. Men's and metabolic care includes Benjamin H. Krasne, M.D., board-certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology; see for men and the testosterone guide. License and NPI numbers are listed on each profile.
Published prices (pricing): HRT for women from $399 for the first month, then $149/month, with estradiol and progesterone preparations included in the visit; TRT from $249 for the first month, then $149/month; Comprehensive Lab Panel $199 one-time. No membership fee, same price in every state.
Worth knowing: ACT 2 has no imaging, no in-person physical exam and no stress testing, and it does not bill insurance. Lab testing is not available in New York, New Jersey or Rhode Island.
Not the right fit if: you want in-person care, imaging such as a DEXA scan, or insurance or Medicare billing, or you are in NY, NJ or RI and need labs ordered for you.
2. Cenegenics
Best for: people who want an intensive, in-person assessment and can budget for it.
Cenegenics describes itself as a physician-led longevity medicine program. Members start remotely, with a phlebotomist drawing blood at home or at the office, and may then spend a full day at a Cenegenics center for DEXA, VO2 max or stress testing, carotid ultrasound, neurocognitive screening and a physical exam (Cenegenics). Key labs are repeated every three months, with a dedicated physician and coach. Its FAQ says the program averages between $14,000 and $21,000 per year and that it does not accept insurance (Cenegenics).
Worth knowing: it is the only option here with imaging and a full in-person workup, and it costs many times more than the online options. US centers include Atlanta, Beverly Hills, Chicago, Dallas, Houston, Miami, New York and Phoenix (Cenegenics).
Not the right fit if: you want a modest monthly cost or have no interest in a center visit.
3. Midi Health
Best for: women in perimenopause or menopause who want to use their insurance.
Midi focuses on women's midlife care and says it is available in all 50 states and in-network with most major insurers (Midi). Visits are with board-certified nurse practitioners or certified nurse midwives who specialize in women's health, working from protocols developed by its physician team (Midi). Self-pay prices are listed at $250 for a first visit and $150 for a returning visit (Midi).
Worth knowing: Midi states that Medicare is out of network; Medicare beneficiaries can book as self-pay patients but cannot submit claims for Midi visits, medications or related services. That matters for women 65 and over.
Not the right fit if: you are a man, or you specifically want a physician rather than a nurse practitioner as your prescriber.
4. Hone Health
Best for: men or women who want frequent testing inside a membership.
Hone starts with a $65 biomarker test at home or at a lab, then a telehealth consult with a Hone-affiliated licensed physician (Hone). Premium membership is listed at $155/month plus medication with testing every three months; Basic is $25/month with testing every six months. Hone treats low testosterone as well as perimenopause and menopause, and its menopause page lists estradiol options priced per month plus membership (Hone).
Worth knowing: Hone is available only in select states, and the list differs for men's and women's memberships (Hone).
Not the right fit if: your state is not on Hone's list, or you want one all-in monthly price.
5. Defy Medical
Best for: people who want a long-running practice that treats both men and women and asks for a physical exam.
Defy offers men's and women's hormone therapy by telemedicine in most states, plus a clinic in Tampa, Florida (Defy). It says plans are built from your goals and blood test results (Defy), and it requires comprehensive lab work and an up-to-date physical exam for any hormone protocol (Defy).
Worth knowing: we did not find a published price for women's hormone therapy, and Defy does not list its states on the pages we checked.
Not the right fit if: you want to compare fixed prices before you begin.
6. Henry Meds
Best for: adults in their late 40s and 50s who want one flat monthly price.
Henry lists HRT for women at $149/month, covering provider visits, medication, supplies and shipping, with both compounded and FDA-approved options (Henry). Henry states that its compounded HRT is prepared by a 503A compounding pharmacy or 503B outsourcing facility and that compounded medications do not undergo pre-market review or FDA approval. TRT starts at $129/month for compounded treatment, with labs included (Henry). Depending on your state, the visit can be by video or by provider review without a video call (Henry).
Worth knowing: Henry publishes age limits. Women must be at least 35 and below 60 for HRT; testosterone treatment is for men aged 35 to 65 and women aged 35 to 60.
Not the right fit if: you are a woman aged 60 or older seeking HRT, a man over 65 seeking testosterone, or you want a live video visit whatever state you live in.
Comparison table
| Provider | Format | Physician-led? | Labs before prescribing? | Published pricing? | Where available |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACT 2 Health | Online | Yes, named physicians with license and NPI | Where appropriate; required for testosterone | Yes, full price list | All 50 states (labs not in NY, NJ, RI) |
| Cenegenics | Hybrid (remote start, center visit) | Yes | Yes, repeated every 3 months | Annual average stated | US centers in listed cities |
| Midi Health | Online | NP and CNM clinicians, physician-built protocols | May order labs | Yes, self-pay visit prices | All 50 states |
| Hone Health | Online | Hone-affiliated licensed physicians | Yes | Yes | Select states |
| Defy Medical | Online, plus Tampa clinic | Yes, MD medical director with PAs and NPs | Yes, plus a current physical exam | Not stated for women's HRT | "Most states" |
| Henry Meds | Online | Licensed healthcare providers | Labs included for TRT; not stated for HRT | Yes, flat monthly price | Supported states (list not stated) |
Questions to ask before you book
The differences between these providers show up in the details, so ask the same questions of each one:
- What will you measure before treatment, and how often afterward? A plan built on a baseline can be checked against it later.
- Who will prescribe, and can I verify them? A physician, a nurse practitioner or both can be appropriate; what matters is that you know who is responsible and can look up the license.
- Is each medication FDA-approved or compounded? If compounded, ask whether it comes from a 503A pharmacy or a 503B outsourcing facility.
- Is there an age limit? If a program stops at 60 or 65, ask what happens to your care when you reach it.
- What is the total monthly cost? Add up any membership, lab, visit and medication charges rather than comparing headline prices.
- Do you take my insurance or Medicare? If not, ask for the self-pay price in writing before the first visit.
Choosing between them
Start with what you need measured and who you want to see. If you want imaging and a full-day physical, Cenegenics is the only option here that offers it; ACT 2's own position is that it is the measurement, interpretation and treatment in between, not a replacement for an executive physical. If insurance is the deciding factor, Midi is built around in-network insurance for women, though Medicare is out of network. If you want published prices, labs and a live visit with a named physician in any state, that is how ACT 2 is set up.
Whichever you choose, ask whether each medication is FDA-approved or compounded. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness, and clinical trial results for branded drugs do not apply to them.
Individual results vary. Eligibility is determined by a licensed provider.
Sources
- https://cenegenics.com/how-it-works/
- https://cenegenics.com/cenegenics-faq/
- https://cenegenics.com/cenegenics-locations/
- https://www.joinmidi.com/meet-our-clinicians
- https://www.joinmidi.com/pricing-insurance
- https://www.joinmidi.com/agewell-visit
- https://honehealth.com/womens/menopause-treatment/
- https://honehealth.com/how-it-works/
- https://help.honehealth.com/hc/en-us/articles/40162108823319-Hone-Health-Service-Availability-by-State-2026
- https://www.defymedical.com/services/hormone-therapy/
- https://www.defymedical.com/tampa-clinic/
- https://www.defymedical.com/about-us/
- https://henrymeds.com/treatments/hrt
- https://henrymeds.com/treatments/trt
- https://henrymeds.com/faq
Frequently asked questions
It is not a formal medical term. In practice it usually means measuring hormones and related markers, then deciding with a clinician whether treatment such as testosterone therapy or menopause hormone therapy makes sense. Ask any clinic what it measures, what counts as a reason to treat, and what it will monitor afterward.
Often not. Most providers in this guide are cash-pay, and Midi Health states that Medicare is out of network, although Medicare beneficiaries can book as self-pay patients. ACT 2 Health does not bill insurance. If you are on Medicare, confirm coverage before booking and compare the self-pay price.
Some providers set one. Henry Meds, for example, states that women must be at least 35 and below 60 for its HRT program, and that testosterone treatment is for men aged 35 to 65 and women aged 35 to 60. Other providers do not publish an age cutoff and decide eligibility case by case.
It helps to see a clinician with specific training in perimenopause and menopause. Look for named clinicians with verifiable credentials, and ask how the plan will be reviewed over time. ACT 2 Health's women's care is led by Vanessa Niles, R.N., M.D., F.A.C.O.G., a board-certified OB-GYN.
Yes. Several providers here, including ACT 2 Health, Hone Health, Defy Medical and Henry Meds, treat both men and women. Midi Health focuses on women's midlife care. Cenegenics offers a longevity program for adults rather than a sex-specific clinic. If a couple wants to use one provider, check that both of you are eligible in your state.
This page is educational and is not medical advice. Treatments are available only to eligible patients following clinical evaluation. How we write and review our content.