Best Physician-Led Midlife Health Programs (2026)
ACT 2 Health publishes this guide and ranks itself first. The criteria we used are below, and every other entry links to that provider's own site so you can check the details yourself.
Six midlife health programs compared on who delivers your care: named physicians, nurse practitioners, live visits, labs, prices and states.
ACT 2 Health Clinical Team · Updated September 24, 2026
Medically reviewed by Benjamin H. Krasne, M.D. and Vanessa Niles, R.N., M.D., F.A.C.O.G.
Many midlife health programs describe themselves as "doctor-led," but the phrase covers very different setups. At some, every prescriber is a physician. At others, a physician designs the protocols and leads a team, while nurse practitioners or physician assistants handle most visits. Some programs never put you on a live call at all. None of these is automatically wrong, but you should know which one you are buying. This guide looks at six programs whose own websites show physicians directing care, and says plainly who you are likely to see.
How we chose
We included only programs operating in September 2026 whose own sites show physicians directing or delivering care, and we checked every fact on each provider's site. We compared them on six criteria:
- Physicians you can identify. Named physicians, stated board certification, or a clear statement that a physician leads the care team.
- Honesty about who delivers visits. Whether the program says when nurse practitioners or physician assistants provide most of the care.
- A live visit. Video, phone or in-person time with a clinician before a prescription.
- Measurement before treatment. Labs, records or an assessment before the first prescribing decision.
- Published pricing. Prices you can see before you commit.
- Clear state coverage. A stated list of where the program can treat you.
We left out several well-known midlife programs because their own sites describe care delivered mainly by nurse practitioners or do not describe physicians directing it. That is a statement about this list's criteria, not about their quality.
The list
1. ACT 2 Health
Best for: Adults over 45 who want named physicians they can verify, a live visit before any prescription, labs first, and every price published.
ACT 2 Health is a 100% online telemedicine platform for hormones, weight, peptides and longevity. Its physicians page names three doctors and lists each one's license and NPI numbers so you can check them: Benjamin H. Krasne, M.D., board-certified by the American Board of Anesthesiology, whose focus is longevity, metabolic health and medical weight management; Johnathan Chance Miller, M.D., who practices holistic and integrative longevity medicine; and Vanessa Niles, R.N., M.D., F.A.C.O.G., a board-certified OB-GYN with more than 40 years in the specialty, focused on menopause and hormone therapy.
How it works: an online assessment, clinician review with baseline labs where appropriate, a personalized plan, medication shipped from licensed pharmacies (including licensed compounding pharmacies), then follow-ups and repeat labs. A live phone or video visit with a clinician is required before anything is prescribed, and for testosterone both bloodwork and a live visit are required. Prices are published in full, with no membership fee; for example, the Comprehensive Lab Panel is $199, one time. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved, are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness, and are not equivalent to or interchangeable with any branded product.
Worth knowing: ACT 2's pages describe visits as being with a licensed clinician, matched to the state you are in. The licenses listed on the three physician profiles are for Florida, Missouri, Georgia and South Carolina, so ask who will treat you in your state and what their credentials are. Care is available in all 50 states, but lab ordering is not available in New York, New Jersey or Rhode Island.
Not the right fit if: you want in-person visits, a physical exam, imaging or stress testing, insurance billing, or care outside the US. ACT 2 is not a replacement for an executive physical or your primary care doctor.
2. Form Health
Best for: Adults with obesity or weight-related conditions who want a physician-led obesity medicine team and insurance coverage.
Form Health says your care team is led by an ABOM-certified physician or endocrinologist, with advanced practice providers, registered dietitians and support staff. You have monthly video visits with a clinician and a dietitian, messaging in between, and a plan covering nutrition, physical activity and behavioral health. It says it prescribes only FDA-approved medications, when appropriate.
Worth knowing: The team includes advanced practice providers, so not every visit is necessarily with a physician. You must have seen a primary care physician in the last 12 months, and eligibility depends on BMI. Form Health says it is in-network with most major private insurers and Medicare; its self-pay plan is listed at $299 a month on its site as of September 2026, with labs and medication extra.
Not the right fit if: your goals are hormones or longevity rather than weight, or you do not have a primary care physician.
3. Alloy
Best for: Women in perimenopause or menopause who want every prescriber to be a board-certified physician.
Alloy says every healthcare provider on its platform is a board-certified physician and menopause expert, and its providers page names them. It says its doctors follow The Menopause Society and ACOG guidelines and prescribe FDA-approved menopausal hormone therapy, and that they can also prescribe for weight care, including GLP-1s. Doctors review intake forms within 12 business hours.
Worth knowing: Alloy's model starts with an intake form reviewed by a physician; we did not find a statement about live video visits or baseline labs on the pages we checked. It is available in all 50 states and D.C. and does not accept insurance. We did not find program prices on the pages we checked.
Not the right fit if: you are a man, you want a live conversation before your first prescription, or you want labs as part of the starting workup.
4. Parsley Health
Best for: People with complex, multi-system symptoms who want long visits and extensive testing, covered by insurance.
Parsley Health describes a physician-led model that combines conventional and functional medicine, with physician oversight and shared clinical protocols. Its clinicians are MDs, DOs, nurse practitioners and physician assistants who complete its functional medicine fellowship. Care starts with an hourlong visit, followed by an advanced lab panel, work with a nutrition coach and regular follow-up visits.
Worth knowing: You may see an NP or PA rather than a physician. Parsley says it accepts insurance nationwide for Complete Care visits. Its standalone Clinical Lab Review panel is listed at $550, and a $250 review fee applies toward membership, on its site as of September 2026. Testing is broad, so ask which results would change your care.
Not the right fit if: you want a single, focused problem treated quickly, or you specifically want a physician at every visit.
5. Winona
Best for: Women who want menopause care from a physician through messaging, with no appointments to schedule.
Winona says all of its menopause prescriptions come from its staff of more than 30 board-certified physicians, and that you are matched with a doctor licensed in your state who oversees your care. It prescribes FDA-approved estrogen patches, estrogen tablets and progesterone capsules, and compounded estrogen and progesterone body creams made in its own compounding pharmacies. Compounded medications are not FDA-approved and are not reviewed by the FDA for safety or effectiveness. Winona does not prescribe testosterone.
Worth knowing: Winona does not offer phone or video visits; all communication happens through its patient portal. It does not require bloodwork before prescribing HRT, which it says follows The Menopause Society and ACOG. It does not bill insurance, and its FAQ lists the states it serves (37 states plus Puerto Rico), so check yours.
Not the right fit if: you want to talk to your doctor live, you want labs as part of your care, or you live in a state it does not serve.
6. Cenegenics
Best for: People who want an in-person, physician-led longevity program with imaging and fitness testing, and have the budget for it.
Cenegenics describes itself as a physician-led longevity medicine program with a dedicated physician who knows your case. Members start remotely with an at-home blood draw, then complete a full-day assessment at one of its centers, which it says includes a physical exam, DEXA body composition, a VO2 max or stress test and a carotid ultrasound. Key labs are repeated every three months, with ongoing remote physician follow-up and at least an annual in-center re-evaluation. It says hormone therapy is used only if clinically indicated.
Worth knowing: Its FAQ lists the full-day assessment at $4,495 to $13,000, a program fee of $550 to $750 a month, and monthly supplies usually between $350 and $600, as of September 2026. The FAQ describes what the program fee includes in more than one way, so ask for a written quote. It does not accept insurance.
Not the right fit if: you cannot travel to a center, you want a fully online program, or you are looking for a lower-cost starting point.
Comparison table
| Provider | Format | Physician-led? | Labs before prescribing? | Published pricing? | Where available |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACT 2 Health | Online | Three named physicians with license and NPI numbers; visits with a licensed clinician | Baseline labs where appropriate; live visit required | Yes, full price list | All 50 states; no lab ordering in NY, NJ, RI |
| Form Health | Online (video) | Yes, per its site; team includes APPs | Recent PCP visit and records required; lab timing not stated | Self-pay $299/mo; labs and meds extra | Not stated |
| Alloy | Online (intake reviewed by a physician) | Yes, per its site: all prescribers are physicians | Not stated | Not stated on pages checked | All 50 states and D.C. |
| Parsley Health | Online | Yes, per its site; MDs, DOs, NPs and PAs | Yes, advanced panel after first visit | Lab panel $550; $250 review fee | Clinician licensed in your state; states not listed |
| Winona | Online (portal messaging only) | Yes, per its site: 30+ board-certified physicians | No, by design | Not found on pages checked | 37 states plus Puerto Rico |
| Cenegenics | Hybrid (remote plus in-center assessment) | Yes, per its site: dedicated physician | Yes, blood draw and in-center assessment | Yes, fee ranges in FAQ | Centers not listed on pages checked |
How to choose
Decide first what "physician-led" needs to mean for you. If you want a physician on every prescription, Alloy and Winona say that is their model. If you want a physician-designed team with NPs or PAs doing much of the work, Form Health and Parsley are open about that. If you want to verify the physicians yourself, ACT 2 publishes license and NPI numbers, though you should still ask who will see you in your state.
Then weigh format and cost. Cenegenics is the only program here with in-center imaging and fitness testing, at a much higher price. ACT 2, Alloy and Winona do not bill insurance; Form Health and Parsley do. Whichever you choose, keep your primary care doctor in the loop.
Sources
- https://www.formhealth.co/how-it-works
- https://www.formhealth.co/
- https://www.formhealth.co/faqs
- https://www.myalloy.com/providers
- https://www.myalloy.com/faq
- https://www.parsleyhealth.com/providers
- https://www.parsleyhealth.com/how-it-works
- https://www.parsleyhealth.com/labs
- https://www.parsleyhealth.com/
- https://bywinona.com/faq
- https://bywinona.com/
- https://bywinona.com/hormone-replacement-therapy
- https://cenegenics.com/cenegenics-faq/
- https://cenegenics.com/how-it-works/
- https://cenegenics.com/
- https://www.knownwell.co/faqs
Frequently asked questions
There is no single definition. At some programs every prescriber is a physician. At others a physician leads a team and sets protocols, while nurse practitioners or physician assistants see you at most visits. Both can deliver good care. The useful question is simple: who will I see, what are their credentials, and can I look up their license?
Not necessarily. Nurse practitioners and physician assistants are licensed clinicians, and many specialize in menopause, weight or primary care. What matters is training in your specific problem, how the program supervises complex cases, and whether you can reach a physician when something is unusual. Ask how that escalation works before you enroll.
State medical boards offer online license lookups, and the national NPI registry lets you confirm a clinician's NPI number and listed specialty. Some programs, including ACT 2, publish license and NPI numbers on each physician's profile so you can check them directly. Board certification can be checked with the relevant specialty board.
Usually not. Most online midlife programs focus on hormones, weight, metabolic health or longevity and do not offer physical exams, imaging or urgent care. Form Health, for example, requires a primary care visit in the last 12 months before you join. Keep a primary care relationship and share results between the two.
Medical licenses are issued state by state, and the state you are physically in during a visit is the one that governs it. That is why online programs match you with a clinician licensed where you are, and why the doctor you see may differ from the one a friend in another state sees. Ask which clinician will treat you in your state.
This page is educational and is not medical advice. Treatments are available only to eligible patients following clinical evaluation. How we write and review our content.